Members area

  • Login
  • Sign Up
  • My Calls for Proposals
  • Why Sign Up?
Advanced search

 Adriatic Programme 

  • Share
  • Print page

The programme includes eligible regions from three State members of the European Union (Italy, Slovenia and Greece) and four eastern countries of the Adriatic Sea (Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro and Albania). As for Greece, these eligible regions are the prefectures of Corfu and Thesprotia. In total, an area of 115.714 km2 is covered with a population of 15.074 inhabitants.

The Strategic Objective of the programme is defined as being the: 

  • Enhancement of sustainable development possibilities in the region of Adriatic Sea, through a coordinated strategy between the partners of the eligible areas.

For the implementation of the Programme the following Priority Axes have been set:

  1. Financial, social and institutional cooperation: It is necessary due to the lack of competitiveness of certain countries, the eventual decrease in the competitiveness of other countries and to the low investment amounts in sectors such as research and innovation.
  2. Preservation of natural and cultural resources, risk prevention: Protection of the rich natural environment of Adriatic Sea and its cultural heritage which largely preserves its local features.
  3. Network accessibility: Participation in research and innovation networks and accessibility to the same elements affecting the competitiveness degree in the region of the Adriatic Sea.

The Programme is co-financed by the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (ΙΡΑ), while Greece contributes with the amount of 5.659.992 Euros.

Related files

Last modification date: 23/03/2010