Members area

  • Login
  • Sign Up
  • My Calls for Proposals
  • Why Sign Up?
Advanced search

 Black Sea Programme 

  • Share
  • Print page

The eligible region of the programme constitutes of ten countries, for certain of which their total national territory is included (Armenia, Azerbaitzan, R. Moldova and Georgia), while for countries close to the run-off basin (Bulgaria, Greece, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine), only some of the regions. 

The four out of the ten countries included (Greece, Armenia, Azerbaitzan and Moldova R.) are not situated close to the coasts of the Black Sea, but are connected to the Basin due to historical, financial, cultural, social and environmental factors.

The other six countries (Bulgaria, Romania, Russia, Turkey, Georgia and Ukraine) have direct access to the Black Sea.

The eligible region occupies an area of 834,719 sq. klms and concentrates a population of 74.2 million people.

The Strategic Objective of the programme is defined as being the following:  

  • More powerful and viable economic and social development of the regions of the Basin of the Black Sea.

with Specific objectives being the following : 

  • Promotion of economic and social development in frontier regions
  • Cooperation in order to face common challenges
  • Promotion of cooperation 

For the implementation of the Programme the following Priority Axes have been set:

  1. Cross-border cooperation for the economic development
  2. Exploitation of the resources and distribution of competencies for the protection and preservation of the environment
  3. Development of cultural and training initiatives for the creation of a common cultural environment in the basin.

Greece contributes with 1.132.000 Euros and will have an enhanced role since it has been decided that is responsible to appoint the First Director of the Managing Authority of the programme, hosted in Romania.

Related files

Last modification date: 23/03/2010